August 13, 2015

Meditation

I mentioned in May and June that my husband had brought some tomato seedlings home from work. Although I was set with the tomatoes I wanted, I nevertheless found places for these poor orphans. Both were labeled Sungold, a yellow/orange cherry tomato. Now that we’re starting to get fruit, the truth is coming out. One of them is Sungold, I’m happy to say. They’re not in the best place, but the tiny fruit make perfect little snacks when I work in the front yard.

The other..?  Well, it isn’t giving me cherry-sized fruit. It isn’t even giving me orange fruit. They are large, slightly flattened, with a lumpy look that reminds me of Mortgage Lifter and a color more like Brandywine. Whatever — they’re awesome on sandwiches. That’s what matters, right?

Events

World Science Fiction is in Spokane next week. I’m both volunteering and presenting on panels. That’s going to take me off line, but I’ll be back on August 28th.

Yardscape

You know how they say, “Sieze the day?” I seized a rainy day to do some transplanting. I dug up a clump of blue fescue (a native grass), divided it into three, and spaced them out in Bed 5, where my landscaping upgrade is in progress. Naturally, the forecast immediately called for 100-degree temperatures! But because blue fescue is a native grass, I’m pretty confident they will pull through. If not, there’s one more clump of blue fescue I can plunder.

Pickin’s

Since it is tomato season, I’ve been freezing them every time a few come ripe. I’ve had the best success so far with Kosmonaut Volkov, which is bearing lots of ox-heart type fruit. The mystery tomato, Mortgage Lifter, and Brandywine are later but putting on lots of fruit. The Black Cherry has begun yielding tasty treats, too.

Pencil Pod Black Wax Beans continue blooming and fruiting. I have frozen about what I really need. Next batch will go to the food bank. Lemon Cucumbers are just as reliable. I need to start a batch of pickles soon.

In the flower beds, both my sedum (Dazzleberry and Lime Zinger) are coming into flower. If you don’t know what sedum are, they’re closely related to the kalanchoes you’ll often see in florist shops.

Indoor Forest

The poor echeveria has given up the ghost, but not before I snagged a healthy leaf. I’ll see if I can get it to sprout so I can try again in a different part of the yard.

Wildlife

Not exactly wildlife, but we have a new neighbor across the alley. Said neighbor has a small dog that doesn’t like to be left alone and yaps constantly. I think I like the rooster better.

Leave a Reply

