April 14, 2015

Meditation

Gardening is all about risk. We choose seed varieties based on what we know of our own climate and their capabilities. We choose when to plant for the best germination. Still, there’s always the chance we’ll plant too soon or too late, or the weather will pull a fast one.

Last week I set out my tomatoes. A few days ago my corn seedlings went into their trenches, with a good layer of aged lawn clippings for mulch. I also took the risk of putting my geraniums out before Memorial Day. So far, all is well. We got a couple of cool, rainy days to help them get settled.

Much as I’d love to gloat over my good risk-management, I think we all know that Mother Nature gets the real credit.

Events

Garden Expo! It was so amazing. My husband went with me and we spent a couple of hours cruising around, trying to take it all in. Money was tight, with some substantial bills coming due on May 15th, but we still brought a few things home. We have two hot peppers, a jalapeno and a cayenne type. We have cilantro and rosemary. We have a US-made trowel from Lowell’s tools. We bought it from Lowell himself. It isn’t elegant, but has proven itself sturdy. For my shady Bed 4, I added a heucherella called Hot Buttered Rum, as a balance to the Black Knight I got earlier.

We even saw some yard art we both liked. If only we had the money…

Yardscape

As I set out my corn in Bed 7, I leaned too hard on the edge. The board broke off! Okay, it was about 10 years old. On top of that, it was treated lumber, which I’ve since learned is not a great choice for a food garden. I think we can get through the year, but in the fall there are some fixes to be made.

In Bed 5, my penstemons are getting buried under daffodill leaves. I’m looking around for a place to move them, next time we have a couple of rainy days in the forecast.

I’m happy to report that the dandelions are much reduced. Now, when I look out at my lawn, the white puffs I see are more likely to be clover blossoms than seed heads.

Sprouts

Lots of things are emerging: sweet peas, kale, pumpkins. Pea vines are climbing the chain link fence. Elsewhere, the bleeding hearts and astilbe are sending up shoots. Gosh, it’s starting to look like a garden out there!

The only dark spot is patchy germination by my bush beans, and the fungus among my asparagus. The baking soda drench was helpful, but I think I need another dose.

Indoor Forest

One of my epiphyllum cuttings has new growth! Everything else needs a bit of basic grooming.

Wildlife

We have a pair of resident robins again this year. I see them on the lawn and in the bird bath. Also, the clover blossoms have drawn honey bees. I like both of those things.

Until next week, keep digging in the dirt!

Leave a Reply

