April 30, 2015

Meditation

This is going to be brief. It’s been a tough week. One of my cats was ill, we’ve spent about 3 times what we could afford, and he isn’t much better. This is the not-fun part of being a pet owner.

Events

I had a great time at the Master Gardener’s plant sale last weekend, even though it rained and even graupeled on us. (Graupel is sort of between hail and sleet.) There were so many great vendors! Great advice, too. I came home with several herbs and a new wildflower called Kitten Tails. Much as I love cats, there was no way I could resist. Now if I can find some Pussy Toes…

The next plant sale is Garden Expo, May 9th. It’s the big one, and I can hardly wait!

Yardscape

What you see up above is my new herb garden, put together with second hand pots and a combination of bought and started herbs. They’re all really happy on their sunny ledge — even the basil!

Weeds are starting to get ahead of me, though. I need to spend some serious time this weekend.

Sprouts

I did plant the “bag o garden” my daughter gave me, with the Bleeding Hearts, Lilies of the Valley, and Astilbe. I’ve never had astilbe, and I’m eager to see what it looks like.

Wildlife

The new bee house I had built fell down! The tacks that held it together came loose in the wind. Guess I’ll have to make repairs and get it back out there.

That’s all for this time, folks!

Leave a Reply

