October 9, 2014

The end of my garden year is fast approaching, and so this blog will be going into dormancy as well. Not much left to do now but pull the spent plants and spread the compost, and who wants to read a big list of chores?

Before I go, though, there will be a few weeks of review over what worked and what didn’t. First, we’ll touch on my big obsession, native insects. This year I’ve recorded appearances by honey bees, oil bees, perdita bees, sweat bees, leaf cutter bees, and cuckoo bees — 6 varieties in all. I’ve seen three kinds of bumblebees, although they’re a lot more confusing for me to identify. There are three kinds of wasps, one of which is a European paper wasp, non-native, so I’ll be knocking those nests down later this fall. I have two kinds of hoverflies, a small one that is common and a larger one that I see far less often. There are some black flies with orange metallic sheen that pollinate for me, and a fly that looks like a bumblebee except you can tell from the sound that it isn’t a bee. There are five butterflies, of which I only identified Cabbage White, Zebra Swallowtail, and Gray Hairstreak.

This will be my basic insect census. Next year, I’ll keep watching to see if new bugs come and go.

Next week, I’ll review what vegetables I planted and how they did for me. Read you then!

Leave a Reply

